Support independent, local, high-quality journalism today! MinnPost

  • 1

Please support MinnPost's local, independent, high-quality journalism as a member-donor. We can't do this without you.

MinnPost is a nonprofit, nonpartisan enterprise whose mission is to provide high-quality journalism for news-intense people who care about Minnesota. We publish online at Monday through Friday with a limited edition on Saturday, as well as a Sunday Review.

MinnPost provides news and analysis based on reporting by professional journalists, most of whom have decades of experience in the Twin Cities media. The site features video and audio as well as written stories. It also includes commentary pieces from the community, and comments from readers on individual stories. The site does not endorse candidates for office or publish unsigned editorials representing an institutional position. We encourage broad-ranging, civil discussion from many points of view.

Our goal is to create a sustainable business model for this kind of journalism, supported by corporate sponsors, advertisers, and members who make annual donations. High-quality journalism is a community asset that sustains democracy and quality of life, and we need people who believe in it to support our work.

MinnPost's initial funding of $850,000 came from four families: John and Sage Cowles, Lee Lynch and Terry Saario, Joel and Laurie Kramer, and David and Vicki Cox. Major foundation support has come from the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, Blandin Foundation, McKnight Foundation, The Minneapolis Foundation, Otto Bremer Foundation, Ethics and Excellence in Journalism Foundation, and Bush Foundation. MinnPost has more than 4,100 member-donors contributing amounts ranging from $10 to $20,000 a year. Many are sustaining members who donate automatically every month.

We are grateful for the guidance and involvement of our Board of Directors and Advisory Council members listed below.

Board of Directors: Lee Lynch, Chair; John Satorius, Secretary; Jennifer Martin, Treasurer; Peter Bell, Carla Blumberg, Lauren Collins, Fran Davis, Jack Dempsey, Fred de Sam Lazaro, Jill Field, Jim Graves, Kathleen Hansen, Vernae Hasbargen, Rachael Jarosh, Kim Kieves, Barbara Klaas, Ed Kohler, Joel Kramer, Kathy Longo, Jane Mauer, Bill McKinney, Dan Oberdorfer, Kandace Olsen, Jeremy Edes Pierotti, Mark Richardson, Jeff Ross, Gordon Rudd, Rebecca Shavlik, Zack Stephenson, Kari Swan, John Tieszen. Emeritus: David Cox.

Advisory Council: Terri Barreiro, Wendy Blackshaw, Laura Bloomberg, Scott Burns, Jay Cowles, Toby Dayton, Nancy Feldman, Samuel Heins, Sue Herridge, Marlene Kayser, Tom Kayser, Lars Leafblad, Glenn Miller, David Moore Jr., Beth Parkhill, Mary Pickard, David Plimpton, Susan Plimpton, Kim Snyder, Missy Staples Thompson, Chris Widdess.

Join the Conversation


Organization Information

  • Name

  • Phone

  • Address

    900 6th Ave SE Suite 220
    MINNEAPOLIS, MN 55414-2379
  • EIN


765 Fans

Also fundraising for this cause